Twelve of the thirteen 2022 Rotary Scholarship winners joined the Rotary members at the June 10 meeting.   Among the 57 students graduating from Coast Union High School (CUHS) and Leffingwell High School this year, 46 students applied for Rotary scholarships—36 from CUHS and 10 from Leffingwell.  Students were accompanied by Leffingwell teacher Justin Gish and CUHS Counselor Samantha Brossette. 

     Donna Crocker and Paula Porterjoined Youth Services Chair Cynthia Woodruff-Neer served to review all of  the applications.  Based on the applicants’ academic performance, extracurricular activities, essays, and interviews, they selected ten students to receive $1,000 scholarships and three students to receive the $1,100 Service Above Self Scholarships in memory of Rotarian and volunteer extraordinaire Sue Oberholtzer.  During the meeting, this impressive group of students introduced their parents and identified the college or university they planned to attend.  

     Alexandra Aguilarwill be attending California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly), majoring in political science with the goal of becoming a public defender.

     Emmy Johnsonwill be attending Santa Barbara Community College majoring in biology and hopes to become a teacher.

     Marley Cambronwill be attending cooking school with the goal of becoming a chef in one of Cambria’s restaurants.

     Alexander Mercadowas accepted at Cal Poly where he will be majoring in civil engineering.

     Emiliano Penawill also be attending Cal Poly majoring in aerospace engineering.

     Shaidy Placenciais headed to the University of California Davis to study neuroscience.

     Isabella Weaverwill attend the University of California San Diego to study political science with a possible minor in creative writing.

     The Sue Oberholtzer Service Above Self Scholarships were awarded to the following students who exhibited a willingness to give of their time and energy to help others:

     Jannah Al Defaaei will be attending the University of California Davis majoring in applied chemistry.

     Jonathan Cleavewill be studying business at Cal Poly.

     Lisi Happelwill be working toward becoming a doctor after majoring in chemistry at the University of California Berkley.

     Scholarship winner Marshall Oliver was unable to attend due to a prior commitment.